In-class practice - cheating in college should be punished with expulsion

Hey all, just working on my on demand writing skills. Any constructive feedback is appreciated. Thanks! :)

Prompt: Any student caught cheating on an examination should be automatically dismissed from college

Institutions of higher learning are strewn throughout the world in many countries. These institutions exist to pass on current knowledge and to add to the knowledge we humans already have. As a part of these institutions, just as with any schooling, different assignments and tests are assigned and administered to allow the instructors to analyze your progress through the courses. So, what happens when someone cheats on one of these examinations? As institutions of higher learning, colleges and universities exist mainly to pass on knowledge to willing individuals. When cheating occurs, the consequences extend beyond the cheating student and the professor; the whole class, sometimes the whole institution, is affected. Because cheating can have such widespread affects, any student caught cheating in college should be expelled.

Colleges and universities contain so much knowledge within their walls. These institutions contain willing instructors that desire to spread knowledge on to a younger generation. However, these instructors are there with one main purpose - to pass on extensive knowledge that they have gained thus far. Attendance to college is not mandatory. Therefore, one can deduce that many of those attending college have a desire to take in the knowledge that the instructors have to offer. When a student cheats in college, this sends the message that they are not willing to put forth the necessary effort to learn and retain the information they are exposed to. As Sir Francis Bacon once said, "Knowledge is power." Also, in the words of Stan Lee, "With great power comes great responsibility." These students are given more power as they take in more knowledge, but what they do with this power is up to them. They can either accept the responsibility of the power they now have, or they can reject it. Those that reject the responsibility are the ones that look for the easy way out - the cheaters.

Colleges exist to pass on information to willing students from younger generations. When cheaters enter the midst of these hard working, knowledge craving students, problems arise. Cheating causes not only problems for the cheating students later on, but for the professors and other students as well. To reduce the problems caused by cheating, I believe that all colleges should implement a no-tolerance cheating policy which results in the expulsion of any student that cheats in college.