Classroom management and discipline, practical every day.

HI EVERYBODY,

PLEASE HELP ME WITH SOME CORRECTION. I NEED TO TAKE AN EXAM IN ORDER TO GET A JOB. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Classroom discipline and management causes the most fear and consternation in new teachers. However, classroom management is a skill that is not only learned, but practiced every day.

In my opinion, teachers should start the school year with a discipline plan. Because students quickly assess the situation, the teacher must start with the best classroom management and discipline techniques. On the other hand, I consider that is very important to build relationship with the students from the beginning. An idea could be to find out what their interests are. If they are interested in sport it is interesting to know what their favorite team is. The students will be pleasantly surprised when teacher take an active interest in their life.

Firstly, the teacher has to sets limits, to establish classroom rules and stick to them. In my opinion, the best rule for a classroom is "Respect." At the beginning of the year the class has to discuss what that rule means in regard to their work, their peers , teachers and personal and school property.. This rule means nothing unless the teacher follows it, as well. He has to model the expectation that he sets for the students at all times, even if a student is disrespectful. The teacher has not to respond in kind . He /she must respect them , and act fairly for all students, because they have a distinct sense of what is and what in not fair. I also consider teachers have to stop disruptions with a little humor instead of sarcasm

As a teacher, I like to avoid confrontation in class. I imagine that I am a teenager in front of 25 peers .How would I respond in a conflict if my reputation depends on my response to the teacher. Therefore, I consider is better to deal with discipline issues privately, speaking to disruptive student for a moment at the back of the room or directly outside the door. I think teacher should put the burden of responsibility on the student ,if he/she is not responsive to teacher respectful attempts. He can say something like this:" I really enjoy your participation in class. I hope that you decide to stay and participate in a positive way. If you choose not to, then you know the consequences. I hate to see you make that choice, but it is your to make. I cannot make you be a positive participant if you choose not to be.``

Secondly, I think the teacher should not forget motivation and praise as an important factor in classroom management. He should help students to see the reason behind their work, and to make it fun and attractive. In addition to keeping students fully engaged, ,which cuts down behavioral problem ,teacher should try giving positive feedback to each student every day. In other words, to catch them doing something right ,to praise and encourage them. Doing so, he will also build their self-esteem.

The classroom is a place where teacher and students spend their time ,and by implementing these strategies, many discipline problems either don't arise or are resolved easily.