Clean or go to jail? - laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

recycling awareness through education

Some people believe that more residential waste should be recycled and the sole solution to this is to make regulations about recycling. From my perspective, I disagree with that idea.

On the one hand, it is true that governments can encourage people to recycle more by promugating new laws. People would be more careful and diligent in recycling if they knew there was someone watching them. Besides, penalties such as fines or community service may serve as a deterrence to future wrong - doings. In contrast, if goverments do not make recycling things compulsory, residents may skip doing whenever they are unwilling or busy. After all, using a little force is good in some circumstances like this.

On the other hand, I do not support the claim that legal requirement is the only way to solve this problem. Even if governments command people to recycle throw - aways, there is no ensurance that they will do as they are told. Similar cases are to be found with laws about illegal logging or poaching as well. Therefore, what lies at the center of an effective solution is not rules but people's awareness. Educating people to notice the urgent environmental issues we are facing and how can we address them by recycling waste is the most effective solution. It is easier to do anything to which we put our minds and hearts.

In conclusion, although making recycling mandatory can serve as a solution to the waste problem, it is better for goverments to raise people's awareness through education.