a clear understanding of oneself can be a great driving force to one's ultimate goal

Does the perception of our potential determines whether we can accomplish our goals?

Everyone has his or her own potential that is imperative to be excavated. One's understanding of what he can and can't do is vital for him to accomplish his goal. Therefore, the keen perception of one's potential, no matter from other's discovery or self-discovery, is able to build up self -confidence that can impel him to strive for his goals. Through the personal experience of Jack Welch and John Nash, I see my standpoints explicit.

Jack Welch, the CEO of an Electricity company, developed his own perception of his potential with the help of his mom. Jack suffered from severe stutter since he was a kid and this physical deficiency always shad shame on himself; therefore, Jack neither talked often nor did he have any confidence with himself. Hence, Jack couldn't see himself acute enough and discover his potential. However, Jack's mom had always been a great remedy to Jack because it was she who encouraged Jack all the time. She discovered that his son had an uncommon intellect, just as she put later in her life, "It's because you are so smart. No one's tongue could keep up with a brain as fast as yours." Jack's mother encouragement had built him strong self-confidence and he firmly believed in his inherent talents. As Jack said, "Stuttering has never bothered me because my mom filled me with all self-confidence- she just poured it in". Therefore, Jack's mom successfully built Jack a keen self-understanding of his potential which was most responsible for his later success. With a clear perception of his intelligence, Jack joined General Electricity, climbing up his position step by step. The owner of General Electricity saw the innate talents that Jack possessed, promoting Jack swiftly and eventually, Jack became the CEO of General Electricity. Jack's perception of his intelligence became a major driving force that helps him achieve his goal as the most successful business man.

Another exemplary individual who recognized his potential and became successful is John Nash. John showed great aptitude in math since he was a kid and he didn't fully recognize his potential in math until he got accepted by Carnegie Institute Of Technology in which he was greatly encouraged by a professor named Synge. Synge discovered the great potential John possessed to be a math specialist and he strongly boosted Nash's self-confidence.

Later, John got accepted by Princeton University in which he devoted his time to "Nash Equilibrium", a masterpiece of his mind. "Nash Equilibrium" was greatly recognized and laid the foundation for Game theory later on. After gaining great understanding of his ability in math and his natural talents, John started to defy the theory of Adam Smith. After years and years of studying without forfeiting, John successfully developed his Game Theory and poked a hole in the long-standing idea of Adam Smith. John ultimately achieved his goal with the nomination of Nobel Price of Economic Science. John gained an acute perception of his intelligent with both the encouragement of his professor and the achievement of himself; he accomplished successfully in the arena of economics and ultimately achieved his goal.

Therefore, through the examples of Jack Welch and John Nash, the idea of forming a perception about one's potential become rather vital. Jack formed a perception of his intellect with the help of his mother and he became the most successful businessman. Similarly, John Nash formed the idea that he's gotten uncommon talents in mathematics which urged him to accomplish successfully in math and math-related economics. All in all, with a clear understanding of oneself can be a great driving force to one's ultimate goal.