Clep essay-Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible.

Can you please tell me the approximate score I can get on this? Please do tell my mistakes as well.

Topic is---Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places."

My essay---

Law in any country governs the activity in that country. Law includesa are the rules which the citizen of that country must follow and the consequences of not following these rules. So if the rule will not be rigid, the countryman will violet the laws more frequently and affecting other people in the country. Country will soon be converted into a jungle where nobody follows rules and everything is messed up. But there can be flexibility in terms of the consequences of breaking that law considering the circumstances, time, place and all. This will be helpful in reforming human beings because punishments may turn person rebellion. If we will give the offender chance to reform there are some possibility that we will get some more good humans.

Laws regarding the rules to be followed are very essential for effective working of the country. If there won't be any rule for example no traffic rules, there will be casualties more often and more rush-ups at hospitals. Not only the rules are necessary but also the effective implementation of it because if there are thousands of rule book for any country but nobody follows it, then it makes no sense. For implementation of that rule not only the authority are required which will monitor the rights and wrongs but some punishments are also required. For example, if one has murdered a common man or rob a bank and if we will not punish him then the person will do it again.

But it is also necessary to look into the circumstances and the situation in which someone has committed the crime. There are sometime self defense crime or sometime under pressure or unintentional crimes can also happen. In this way if these situation are not taken into account can be hazardous for an innocent person. It's written in all law books that 5 criminals live are better than one innocent dead. We cannot punish any innocent person. This flexibility can be advantageous to law offender sometime. They can use these flexibilities as their weapon and try to prove themselves innocent. So we can say situation is very critical as flexibility can be good or can be bad. Then what should we do?

To conclude law must be rigid and fixed for all but there has to be some flexibility considering the time, situation and place because innocent person should not suffer for any reason.