IELTS: CLIMATE CHANGE ISSUE - Not enough political action!

Climate change is now an accepted threat to our planet, but there is not enough political action of control excessive consumerism and pollution. Do you agree or disagree?

I agree that the government has not taken an active role in prioritizing the welfare of the environment particularly the climate. Although there are several concerned individuals and organizations who have petitioned for an urgent action, politicians have not focused their attention to the environment. Most of the bills and policies created have emphasis on social and economic issues; and only a number of environment -related regulations are passed and approved in the upper court.

Furthermore, government officials themselves are not strict in the implementation of the laws. They have become lax in carrying out their responsibility to apprehend violators. Take the streets of Metro Manila for an example, a number of cars are emitting thick smokes from the mufflers and yet traffic officers do not pull them over for smoke belching when clearly there is an existing legislation that prohibits the use of such defective cars because of its known harm to the environment.

Moreover, the sanctions for breaking the laws are not tantamount to the degree of damage done to the planet. Fines and penalties are low. I believe equitable punishments should be imposed to prevent the repetition of the same violations. In some communities, the local council prohibits the incineration of wastes. Violators are only fined P1000 with detention.

In addition, corruption may have also taken a part in the failed attempt to penalize those who break the laws. Industrial factories that emit a dangerous amount of toxic fumes and gases are still operational. They should be closed down unless negotiations outside the perimeters of the law were already made. These companies are big and stopping their businesses will only lead to loosing more money. One cannot think of the possibility that a big sum of money may have been involved to keep these factories open.

Therefore, it is my belief that the government has not exerted all their efforts in caring for the climate. There may have been laws enacted to help save nature, but compliance and punishment for violations are unsatisfactory.