Do clothes and styles people wear can define their characters?

Some people say that the clothes people wear are the most important indication of what they are like. Others, however, say that people should not be judged by the clothes they wear.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Fashion has become a part of people's lives. Therefore, it is believed that fashion can tell someone's personality. Yet, others argue that clothes do not represent who the wearer really is. As for me, I think that the notion of judging people by their clothes is totally unjustifiable.

In some cases, outfits and styles people wear define their characters. Although some people remain to deny this issue, the status quo has proven it. Pink color, for instance, tends to be identical with women in general. Ben Holcomb, an American fashion enthusiast, says that one of the most fundamental reasons why men avoid wearing pink-colored clothes is because they are insecure wearing the color and feel it reflects their sexual orientation or degree of masculinity. According to his online survey, about 87% of women agree that they are not so keen on watching their couples in the pink as they do not want their boys labeled as effeminate. This common fact has explained briefly that, consciously or not, clothes-based stereotyping is subtle in society.

On the other hand, the opponents claim that dress does not dictate individual character. In order to tell someone's character or personality, people should go further rather than solely examine the way that they dress. A study in physiognomy - the idea that people can tell someone's character from their facial appearance - carried by Anthony Little and David Perrett, British psychology students, proved that there was a link between facial appearance and personality, even though this can be only applied to some extreme personalities, such as extroversion, conscientiousness and openness. Interestingly, Little and Perrett's study used mugshots instead of live subjects as their objects. This has successfully revealed that clothes have nothing to do with personality. Hence, the issue of judging people from their fashion and styles is utterly unacceptable.

In conclusion, while fashion-based stereotyping is likely to be common in society, in fact, personality people have cannot be defined by their looks. However, I think that rapid judgment is a kind of inappropriate behavior which people should avoid as appearance sometimes can betray a personality.