Co-ed college? Which esbetter for students - single-sex school or a co-ed counterpart

Co-ed college or single-sex school

There have been some debates as to whether the single-sex school and co-ed counterparts. Some argue that it would be better for school to divide mixed both sexes due to more distraction when others believe that the benefits such as interpersonal communication. However, although co-ed school provides the advance face-to-face communication, I believe that single-sex school offers more beneficial with less distraction so student more focuses on their personal achievement in their school.

The biggest issue in the single-sex versus co-ed schools debate is the possibility of distraction in the classroom. Many people say that if the other sex is in the classroom, the overly permissive students can be harmful due to less attention to the teacher. According to US Department of Education, from 40 quantitative studies compared between single-sex school and co-ed school that single-sex school outcomes related to academic achievement and more positive academic aspirations. I believe that the main benefits of single-sex schooling are decreasing distractions to learning, and improving student achievement.

The perspectives of the other sex are lost in discussion in the single-sex classroom. The ability to communicate with the other sex may not develop as quickly and it is essential for the professional world. For example, one study reported that dividing boys and girls into separate classrooms actually delaying the development of interpersonal communication. On my opinion, to identify it needs more professional development for teachers on meeting the distinct needs of boys and girls in co-ed sex public schools.

In conclusion, while co-ed college provides the advance face-to-face communication, I slightly agree with that single-sex school gives extra useful with less distraction so student more awareness on their personal achievement.