College plays a great role in shaping our future :TOEFL

1) People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge).Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days people get many choices when it comes to choosing colleges or university. People choose colleges based on the college's popularity, education level or opportunities of job after completing the course of study in that college. There are different reasons why people attend colleges or universities. In my opinion, majority of us attend college for better career and to gain more knowledge. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons that why people attend college for career and knowledge.

College plays its role in building up one's career in many ways. Firstly, by going to college we identify ourselves in some position and can achieve our goal. College provides a degree by which we can get lot more job opportunities and we can make our living more reasonable and respectful. For instance, after I completed my high school I wanted to become a physical therapist in order to earn more money and to get more secured living. So I went to college to earn a degree in physical therapy. These days, job market has become more competitive. Many companies generally desire high skilled employees or atleast graduated from college.

Besides, colleges and universities are good source of knowledge. We can learn new skills in college. In college, professors are high educated so they give lot of information and guide us through our way. Now a days many universities have libraries. Students can take reference books, do researches and pick up new ideas. In college students acquire knowledge from both practical as well as reading books. For example, when I was in college our professor asked each student to do research in particular topic. After completing the research I came to know new techniques and got the skill of presenting my ideas.

Therefore in my opinion, gaining knowledge and having more job opportunities in future are more considered reasons for people to attend university. However, attending college or university is beneficial for every individual.