College students have jobs while they are in school. Is this a good idea? I think so.

College Student Have Jobs while in School

In this century, college students on over the world have been joining a part time job during school time, especially in the United States. In my view, the college students should have job while they are in school for few reasons.

Finance is the first reason that a college student should have a job during school time. Nowadays, college tuitions and the cost of living have grown for the past years. For example, my niece just completed her two and a half years in New York University College of Nursing, and her debt tuitions comes over one hundred twenty thousand dollars. Her mother helps to pay for the rent; however, she has to work for paying her utilities, foods, books, and others needed for living. Just like my niece there are many college students work while they are in school.

Understanding the value of money is the second reason that college student should have a job during school time. In the modern society, they get used to following the trend by using brand name products. For instance, the Apple iphone upgrades to a new version each year, and it is very expensive. In order to get a new iphone they have to use about four paychecks with a minimum wage job. When they start earning their paycheck, they realize how difficulty of making money, and it takes a lot of time and effort to make a living. They'll appreciate their parents; also, they'll be careful about their spending habit.

Responsibilities are the last reason that a college student should have a job during school time. They need to learn how to be responsible employee, and going to work on time is one of the examples otherwise they will lose their job. In addition, college students should learn how to use their time in a proper way. For example, student works fifteen hours a week at tutoring center from 3:00PM to 6:00PM. After work, they have only three or four hours to do homework before bedtime. Timing is limited so they can't use it for something else. Responsibility is a big role because students have to be able to balance work and school at the same time.

In conclusion, I think college student should work during their college years because they need to earn money for their expenses, to understand the value of money, and to become more responsible.