IELTS TASK 2 - DOES COLOUR AFFECT ON PRODUCTIVITY AND PEOPLE'S HEALTH?

Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals

How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work?

Colours have been part of people's lives since they were at a young age. Although some psychologists found that it can affect on the way human feel, this finding, however, is not utterly acceptable. It is suggested that other measurements should be taken into consideration as it seems more important compared to colours.

Colour does not seem affect on workers' productivity. Some people claim it distracts them instead since they tend to get headache when working in a bright-coloured office room. A 2013 survey result about the impact of colour on the journalists of New York Times showed that they preferred working in a plain-coloured room as they are able to perform better in such place. According to them, bright colours have a tendency to make a reflection. Sometimes, this makes them get headache easily. However, I would argue that a high productivity can be achieved if all employees work in a harmonious way.

Similarly, either medical personnel or patients say that colours are less important as patients' recovery does not depend on the decoration of hospital. dr. Agung Nugroho, an Indonesian doctor working in my local hospital, state that patients are more likely to concentrate on their medical treatment rather than enjoying the room decoration where they stay. Besides, colours and decoration have nothing to do with their recovery. It aims only on creating a comfortable atmosphere. Apart from this fact, I personally argue that hygiene and highly sophisticated hospital equipment are what patients more concern about.

The aforementioned evidences show that colours do not play an important role in some cases. As far as I am concerned, employers should be able to create a friendly environment in a workplace and encourage their workers to have a good sense of community so as to boost company's productivity. Meanwhile, some people believe that their recovery depends on hospital hygiene and its well-advanced equipment.