Colour plays an important role in everyday life

Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel.

For this reason, attention should begiven to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Color is the earliest thing that people can learn, it also plays an important role in everyday life. It influences can be seen in home decoration or fashion. It has been a discursive argument that whether to take colors into consideration when people construct workplace or hospitals or not. However, from my perspective, it depends on the use of those places to decide the significance of colors

On the one hand, it is true that colors in offices are sometimes not really important. In a workplace, what is really crucial is the technology or the environment. Clerical workers usually do not need too many colors or patterns in their workplace as they believe it can distract them from their work. Additional, these workers often involve in their work so much that they do not really care about the color of their office

However, the opposite would be true in some other workplaces. People who work in creative fields such as art or architecture find that offices painted with vibrant colors are more preferable. The general view is that those colors can help them to encourage their creativity. As a result, some companies such as Google, decorate their offices with colorful walls and details in order to boost the productivity of their employees

While the influence of colors in offices are about output, in hospitals, it is mainly about the health of patients. Obviously, colors are often avoided in hospitals, where people recover from operations or illnesses. Additionally, when it comes to hospitals, what most people think really matters is their healthcare services, well-qualified doctors or the facilities of the hospitals rather than its decorations or colors

Nevertheless, in hospitals for children, it would be better for them to be colorful. Unlike aldults, children often care more about entertainment, therefore, decorating walls with colors or pictures can attract them. Moreover, some children may be scared of hospitals so the decorations can help them to stay calm and be more friendly towards the staff.

In conclusion, there is relationship between colors and mood. For that reasons, designers should carefully examine the purposes of the place and decorate in a way that help the occupants to get the best of their surroundings