Combination of different methods. How to reduce crime - IELTS Writing task 2

Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentence. Others, however, think there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

best ways to prevent crime

It is commonly believed by some that increasing prison sentence is the best way to prevent crime while some people suppose except that, there are more appropriate ways to do the above aim. Personally, I think it should combine some ways together.

On the one hand, prion sentence is a convenient and easy punishment that help to protect human right to live but it also give some disadvantages. Firstly, to carry out a prison sentence, it is necessary to build prison system and pay salary for staff working in that system, and that would be a burden for citizens when they would have to pay taxes only to help prisoners have somewhere to carry out their sentences. Secondly, to some crimes, prison sentence would be useless to repair the damage, for instance economic crimes. This crimes lead to serious consequences, for example, companies are bankrupt and the staff are jobless, and prisoning the offender, in cases like that, would be no help for the jobless.

Whereas, there are several ways that could overcome the drawbacks of prison sentence such as pecuniary penalty and death sentence. Pecuniary penalty helps to increase yearly budget and the government would use that to enhance quanlity of life and as a result, the rate of crime would reduce, particularly economic crimes, but abusing pecuniary penalty would wide wealth gap. In terms of death sentence, it is argued that it should be abolished because of human rights but death sentence still brings about many positive effects. This can be seen that the danger to society would be completely disappeared and preys and their families would be consoled.

In conclusion, there are no best way to prevent crime, each method has its benefits and drawbacks, so it should combine some ways together to overcome their disadvantages.