A common belief that unpaid community services should be made compulsory for high schoolers.

IELTS Writing Task 2: Agree or Disagree Essay

Here is my latest essay on Writing Task 2. Please be free to leave your comments below. Thanks in advance.

Topic: Some people believe that unpaid community work (for example, working for a charity, teaching sports to children) should become a compulsory part of the high school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that unpaid community services should be made compulsory for high schoolers. In my opinion, I believe that making community services compulsory should not be exercised in school environment.

Firstly, being forced in welfare works could result in more pressure to high schoolers. Community services often requires to pay a great amount of time, hence, when taking part in these activities, students are more likely to lose concentration on school assignments. This means that many young people, especially who are struggling with their study, might find it challenging to keep a good performance in their academic records. For majority of students, particularly who always desire to get a well-paid job in the future, this would not be a viable option.

Another point to consider is the lack of efficiencies when high school pupils are forced into such kind of activities. It is obvious that young people also have the right and capability to make decision whether or not to contribute to the society. Therefore, unless high schoolers engage in community works with a proper attitude, they would not be willing to learn and do anything. This would eventually go against the school's expectations, which is helping its students foster a strong sense of community in their minds.

In my opinion, instead of making this work mandatory, parents and teachers should encourage and provide their children with opportunities to contribute to the society. By doing this, they can expect these youngsters actually learn from experience of helping others out.

To sum up, I believe that making welfare works compulsory is not a perfect way to equip students with the values that parents and teachers expect them to learn.