Companies should allocate a certain percentage of job positions to women. Do you agree?

*The exact task/question for this exercise has been lost. I understand that you may not be able to determine if I answered the essay question correctly, could you assess if the organization, grammar, and cohesion/cohesiveness of my Academic IELTS Task 2 composition are sound?

Question as I vaguely remember: Companies should allocate a certain percentage of job positions to women. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Women, who have been deprived from working in certain fields in our history, have found themselves excelling in different industries today. De-mystified by our current society, females proved themselves to be integral part of any work force conceivable. In light of this, some people suggest that companies must be compelled to assign women to high-level positions - which, according to certain individuals, is a position monopolized by men. However, I sincerely do not believe that this will have a beneficial effect to any parties. This can even negatively affect gender equality as it forces a group of individuals to assume a certain role without considering their own self-determination. On the other hand, education and performance would be suitable gauges in determining who deserves any position - may it be low- or high-ranking.

Gender equality is an ideology that essentially seeks to break limitations set by archaic stereotyping and to provide a society where opportunities of any genders are all equal. Requiring companies would then set a minimum limit of women allowed to work in an institution which in effect, force the society to create a new for of stereotyping: women are required to fill-in a high-level position.

Furthermore, education and proven track record are better criteria in appointing company employees than percentages of any kind. The goal of the company is to maximize its productivity therefore they must choose those who are able to demonstrate great adaptability from extensive knowledge in their field and a discernible past record that shows their excellence, regardless of sex roles.

In an overall perspective, forcing corporations to hire females just because they are compelled to is an offensive gesture affecting not only the company but our society as well. Nevertheless, there are other methods to determine who gets appointed such as educational background and past experiences.