Comparative Essay for ENG 1100... subject: Depression

This is a simple comparative essay contrasting depressed individuals to healthy individuals and their expectations of depressed individuals. I feel that it in someway isn't an effective comparative essay, but I can't really figure out why I feel this way, because I feel pretty comfortable with my work. However, I have ADHD and I might not have communicated well enough. Can you advice me on how I can better organize my essay?

I repeat! This is a simple comparative essay. We had minimum requirements on the essay, only that it should be simply put, a comparison between two like subjects. Advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you for not deleted my post...

" For someone who hasn't experienced severe depression, it can be difficult for them to understand why it can be debilitating. What they don't know is that depression isn't an extended case of sadness. Depression is a real health problem that interferes with every aspect of a person's life. Depression usually occurs after an individual experiences loss or trauma. It attacks people from all backgrounds, from children to expectant mothers and the elderly. It is usually characterized by long periods of deep sadness that interferes with daily functioning. Once acquired, minor things can easily upset the individual, while normally enjoyable activities will hardly faze him or her. Depression is different from regular sadness in that it can lasts for months or even years. It is usually accompanied by guilt and self-defeating behavior. Sadness is an emotion. Depression is an emotional disorder.

Depression is a disease that effects 5% of the global population. It is caused by an excess of monoamine oxidase in the brain. In a healthy individual these enzymes would break down excess mood-related chemicals such as serotonin and melatonin, leaving the necessary amount needed in order to react to daily stimuli without too much difficulty. In a depressed individual, MAO-A is produced in excess causing essential chemicals to be destroyed. Without these neurotransmitters a person can have difficulty functioning. Serotonin, one of three major neurotransmitters. It is responsible for processing endorphins that cause stress. Serotonin helps people relax. A person with depression usually has decreased levels of serotonin, making him/her more vulnerable to stress. Dopamine, another neurotransmitter effected by MAO levels, regulates how we respond to pleasure and pain. Among other neurotransmitters affected are norepinephrine, histamine, and melatonin. In a healthy individual these chemicals work together to keep the body functioning properly. They control emotional responses, sleep patterns, digestion, and other major functions of the body.

A successful individual is expected to be productive occupationally, socially, and personally. Not only are people expected to work efficiently at a job, but to maintain social relationships, and to fulfill family obligations. All of these many interactions are fueled by aforementioned neurotransmitters that tell the mind how to feel in certain situations. They help maintain feelings of stress and anger and keep the individual working towards his/her goals. They are what motivate us even in the face of defeat and keep us hoping for a brighter future. Depression sucks all motivation out of an individual making everyday tasks and obligations impossible to complete.

Though depression is a disease emotional in nature, it can affect an ailing person in many areas of life. Depression makes it impossible for an otherwise healthy person to function which can cause said person to lose interest in maintaining their physical health. Depressed individuals are more likely to skip meals and daily cleansing rituals, eventually destroying their immune system. These individuals are more likely to complain of body cramps, and are more likely to be affected by weather changes and viruses. Many people may overindulge in fatty, unhealthy foods, while others may refuse to eat all together. In many cases, people with eating disorders have an underlying case of depression.

Depression is an indiscriminate disease. It could attack any healthy person, destroying his/her life if it goes untreated. Some people suffer from acute depression that leaves after a time, whereas some people suffer from chronic depression which is incurable. Some people will never suffer from depression. You can't single out people that are more likely to "catch" depression. Both depressed and healthy people have goals in life. They exist on all spectrums under all conditions. The only thing that differs from the depressed and the healthy are a few neurotransmitters, or lack thereof. However, through talk therapy and drug therapy, a person with depression can function normally in society. There are drugs that increase neurotransmitters in the brain and filter MAO making it possible for individuals to function normally."

This is such a tiresome process.