Essay to Compare and Contrast Two members of Your Family

I need help with finishing up this essay. The instructions are to compare and contrast two members of your family. I've gotten the basics down so far, I just need help continuing. It has to be at least 750 words, so far I have 349. Please Help Me!

This is the Essay Below:

My mom and dad are both great parents, but I prefer my mom more than my dad. Seeing my parents together you would think that they were the worst combination of people to be married. But after knowing them for a long time you would see that they have many things in common as well as many things that were different about them. My mom is easy going, very considerate, and is a very understanding person. My dad is the total opposite of all of that. He is mean, inconsiderate, and very selfish.

My mom is very supportive in anything that I choose to do within my life. She is always the person that I can rely on to help me financially, emotionally, and mentally. I never have a problem with approaching my mother about anything. When I decided to go away to college, my mom backed me up 100% and even offered to accompany me on my visit to the school. On the other hand my dad was against it. He felt as if I just wanted to get away from my responsibilities at home and go away to party and get wild. I have never been able to speak to my dad about anything, because he either shows no care at all, or he never tries to view anything from any other point of view. It's always about what he thinks or how he feels about a situation. He is also very stingy when it comes to his money. If I asked my dad for money to buy books he would tell to borrow them. But if I asked my mom for money to buy books she would give it to me, and if she didn't have it, she would work the extra hours just to make sure that she got it for me. My mom is someone that has all of her priorities straight. My dad on the other hand doesn't. He would give his friends his last meal before he gave it to his starving family.

Although my parents have many differences between them they are still very similar in certain things that they do. When it comes to finances both of my parents have the same mind set. They both have the same goals in life and they both want the same future for me. I can honestly say that they can both agree with my choice of studies in college. Another thing that is ironically the same about them is the fact that they both have similar jobs; which also points out the fact that they have the same interests. Both my mom and dad work in the same hospital in similar positions.

In conclusion, both my mom and dad are good but each person has different characteristics. Because my dad is impatient and less mature than my mom, and my mom is easier going, it complicates the way people view them individually. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it just shows how different people are. The way situations turn out between the two greatly depends on how well each person decides to handle it.