IELTS TASK 2 - Compare the merits and demerits of having a car.

Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

And just one additional question. Did I use more linking words like "however", "In conclusion" - than I should

on the wheels

Nowadays, many people state that cars bring more positives rather than negatives, whilst others disagree and think that the disadvantages from motor vehicles, such as cars are significantly more. This essay argues that the advantages from cars outweigh the drawbacks. The principle advantage of cars is the convenience of the transportation, whereas the main drawback is that automobiles are the main cause of the air pollution.

Cars are the easiest and cheapest mean for traveling from place to place. Nearly everybody on the planet can travel wherever he wants due to the very well developed infrastructure in the most regions of the world. Moreover, the travel by cars is considerably cheaper compared to the other means of transportation. For example, according to a research conducted by Harvard university, in every major European city, the traveling with a car is three to seven times cheaper than the travel with public transport. As a result, cars make our lives dramatically more convenient and affordable.

However, it is worth noticing that motor vehicles including cars are culpable for the increasing air pollution. In addition to this, exhaust gasses emitted by cars has caused Global Worming, as well as they are the main ingredients for creating smog. Because of this, many governments have imposed strict rules for the usage of cars and have restricted the entrance of many automobiles into the city centers. On the other hand, science offers a solution to this problem, as in the last few years many car manufacturers introduced many electric and non-polluting motor vehicles.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of cars are clearly overshadowed by the benefits. Therefore, having weighed up the pros and cons and as a concomitant, of the recent innovations in the car industry, I am convinced that cars should continue to be used.