IELTS Writing task 2 - comparing talents from birth and trained musicians/athletes..

to strive for the better

Although examples of prodigies can easily be observed in many aspects of life thanks to mass media, there are also those who strive through training and education to be recognized like their counterparts.

On one hand, people with innate talents demonstrate their abilities at a very young age. The skills come natural to them and they might or might not need further education in order to succeed. Genetics or early exposure to the skill may be the reason for their talents.

On the other hand, people who were not born with such abilities may not be good at the skill initially. But for intensive training, they might never have unlocked their potentials and go beyond their limits. Despite their talents, they might not have had interest in the skill, therefore these people have to be extremely disciplined and determined so as to achieve their goals.

In my opinion, whether those people are talented from birth, or have to go through excruciating training; the crucial thing is that, they have to strive for the better. Determination, as well as passion are indifferent between the two types of people.

In conclusion, it depends on the person, and not the talent that decides who people are.