IELTS- competition and cooperation , which one is important for children?

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition and cooperation are both essential skills for people to live in this world. Someone believe it's better to put their children in a competition environment early to adapt current society, but others say that cooperation is the most significant skill which children have to know well. In this essay, I will talk about both side and give my own opinions about them.

Competition is undoubtedly good. First of all, it will push us to do better and better, for example, compete between companies is always good to customer to get better quality products and services. For children, it helps children to learn new knowledge or skills of preparation of their future life. A second point is that competition helps children can get lots of experience, no matter winning or losing, they can get confidence.

However, only focus on competitiveness is not always beneficial for children. To begin with, young children are naturally egocentric. Therefore they have to learn how to feel other people's feeling and help other one. No parent want their child become a selfish man, isn't it? In addition, group work is a good way to teaching children communication skill and sense of responsibility. We are now live in a highly-interdependent knowledge society, it is hard that one man can cope with everything, no matter how brilliant you are, work as a team always the best and effective method to getting a success.

In conclusion, it is almost impossible to separate these two features of our lives. Competition and cooperation are potential elements in our blood, they are most important factors to us to establish current world, and children have to learn both of things well.