Competition is one of the good ways to encourage young people in developing their leadership skills

Preparing young people for leadership

Prompt:

"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

My essay :

There are many ways in preparing young people for having a leadership skill that will be beneficial in their future career paths. Some people argue that the best way is by training them a sense of cooperation in such a work team without a competition. However, there is an argument that competition is one of the good ways to encourage young people in developing their leadership skills. I personally believe that the combination of cooperation and competition sense should be the important things in emphasizing a leaders' charachter in every individual.

It is undeniable that a competition is a good thing for student, and it has obviously been applied in school. For example, there is a rank system that will encourage students to get a higher score than their friends. In addition, there are also many competition in extracurricular activities, such as in sports or games. By training youth with competition, they will be encouraged to focus on achieving their goals and forcing themselves to get the best result. These are definitely one of the important aspects that the leaders should have. In workplace, they will have a willingness to work, not only work, but achieve the best things that will be beneficial to their institutions.

Absolutely, the competition is not a single thing that determine people to be success. They also should have an ability to work in team. None can do such a lot of works in gaining the highest goals by her/himself alone. A great work will be successfully achieved when there is a great work team behind it. Therefore, every single individual should have a sense of cooperation, beside their competitive trait.

By combining both competition and cooperation, everyone is able to be a competent leader and give a greater benefit for their institutions. Those two abilities are definitely thaught in school, but should be keep maintained by a single individual when they want to achieve a success life in their career paths.