Whether it should be compulsory for high school students to wear uniforms or not - it's the question

Some high schools require all students to wear uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear at school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Whether it should be compulsory for high school students to wear uniforms or not has always been a bone of contention. Although freedom in clothing has its own benefits, I believe that obligatory uniform is the better policy, considering the immensely positive effects that it brings to both schools and students.

Many students nowadays prefer freestyle dressing as it creates a comfortable atmosphere, which is beneficial for their performance at school. Clothes are claimed to have a significant impact on people's mood. On wearing one's favorite outfits, that person feels more satisfied with him/herself and gain more self-confidence. Students, for that reason, can perform outstandingly at school thanks to the comfort and self-satisfaction brought on by their own clothes. Also, one's outer appearance can be a source of inspiration for another. Sitting in a classroom full of students wearing colorful outfits of different styles, one can easily get inspired by others and write a better essay or draw a nicer painting. It is true that freedom of choosing what to wear promotes mutual understanding. By judging their classmates through their clothing, one student can get a deeper overview of other's hobbies as well as habits.

Those in favor of uniformity at school state that dressing the same helps eliminate the gap between the rich and the poor, which can potentially reduce several school problems. To illustrate, it helps cover one's background, so there is little discrimination, leading to fewer cases of bullying and intimidation. Another reason is that it improves the school's aesthetic beauty, which tempts more boys and girls to attend the school. Teenagers, especially girls, are extremely concerned about their outer appearance, so stunning uniforms will be taken into serious consideration when it comes to choosing their future high school. Moreover, compulsory uniforms help promote discipline in class. A Special kind of clothing with badges and names contributes to developing a sense of pride and self-consciousness, preventing students from breaking the rules.

In conclusion, freedom in dressing to school has a good impact on students' academic performance and bring them closer together while compulsory uniforms reduce the number of offenses, improve discipline and become an attractive point of the school. Considering the current situation in such developing countries as our own, where class size is large and needs controlments, wearing uniforms is the optimal choice.