IELTS - Compulsory military service for men and women

Topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for men after they leave school. I would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men and possibly women.

In most countries the military service is obligatory for young people after finishing school. Some people think that it is a good system and should be adopted by all countries. I don't agree with this view because I believe that unless there is no any danger of war this system can cause many negative effects on both society and state budget.

On the one hand, I accept that military service has positive effects on people like teaching them to be strong and survive in danger situations. Also it makes people more accurately and disciplined as well as physically stronger and healthier. Soldiers, for example, are mcore likely to be accurate, shaved and not dirty, while in our society there are many people who don't care about it.

At the same time, I strongly believe people don't need to attend to army for reaching these positive points. Everybody can develop these good habits by themselves. Moreover, I think forcing young people to take military service is not a good idea for countries which are not in a war situation or in danger zones like the Middle East. Furthermore, it could results in problem in society not only because of government want their children to serve in the army but also because of increasing public expenditures. To maintain army is not easy and it costs much money. Since the state budget has to cover these expenses the tax payers can argue that having bigger arm than that they do is useless and they don't want their money to be spent in this way. It is possible that the most of them will consider it nothing more than wasting of money.

In conclusion, I agree that countries have to have compulsory military service but these are those countries which are in danger of war.