"The computer is a boon to our society." To what extent would you agree?

I am new to this forum. Still exploring how this forum works. :) I have just written an essay. The question was given by my EL teacher.

Here's the format outline given by my teacher.

1. 4 paragraphs (1 Intro, 2 body paragraphs, 1 conclusion).

2. Include just one side of the view in the two body paragraphs

3. Word-limit = 400 to 600 words

Basically, our class is learning to write essays in the A-Level GP (General Paper) format.

English isn't my first language, so I may have some problems in expressions. Please give comments! :) Thanks a lot!

"The computer is a boon to our society." To what extent would you agree with this statement?

The computer is an electronic machine that can store and deal with large amounts of information and mathematical calculations. It ranges from simple handsets to super computers. The computer has become part of everyone's life since the beginning of the 1970s when various computer software and hardware companies began to aspire selling personal computers to each and every single household. With the advent of the World Wide Web in the 1990s, the Internet has become part of everyone's life as well. Combined with the power of the Internet and the ubiquitousness of the personal computers, the computer has become a boon to our society. It benefits our society in a number of ways such as making it convenient to access and process information and helping the economy. This essay will examine how the computer connected to the Internet benefits our society, i.e. how the computer is a boon to our society. I agree that the computer is a boon to our society.

First of all, the computer provides us with extreme convenience in accessing and processing information, which was previously impossible. In this Information Age, access to information has become vital to one's success and cultural development. With the Internet connection, one can easily search for information for various purposes such as academic research and business. Search engines like the Google and Bing enable one to look for academic help from academic sites like Wikipedia, Khan Academy and Sparknotes while the Google Finance helps businesses study the market and current and past macro economic climates. The ease at which one can search for information is a great benefit of the computer without which one cannot get access to information as easily and quickly.

In the economic sense, the computer has been a great advantage for many people. The computer benefits the economy both in terms of macro and micro economic levels and generates more net profits. Essentially, the computer saves huge amounts of administrative costs in macro economics. Now, businesses are increasingly selling products in terms bits instead of atoms as Nicholas Negroponte puts very succinctly in his book "Being Digital". Businesses are viewing documents from the Internet, saving huge documenting costs of physical paper. And, super computers help handle large amounts of economic data in trade transactions, stock market, etc., cutting down costs incurred in the transaction processes. Reduction in costs produces more profits for businesses. Moving on to the micro economic benefits of the computer, it empowers people to earn their living through the Internet. In developed countries like US and Britain, there are an emerging group of tech-savvy housewives who are earning money from home through the Internet. They self-hire themselves as data entry assistants to companies in which they have to manage raw data into different formats. This helps them earn as much as a few thousand dollars per month. From both the macro and micro economic perspectives, the computer enables our society to earn more profits, which is good. It is a great benefit.

In conclusion, the great benefits of the computer qualify it as a boon to our society. I agree that the computer is a boon to our society. It empowers us with the easy access to knowledge and with the ability to cut costs and earn money. Certainly, there are inevitable drawbacks to the computer. However, they should not be the reasons why we should shun the new technology. We should harness its great potential. As always, we should minimise the harm and maximise the benefits.