Computer games are time consuming and they do not provide educational value

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Evaluation of the copmuter games value for kids

When it comes to the topic of computer games, people tend to develop various viewpoints. Some would contend that computer games are time consuming, whereas others would hold that computer games bring about significant benefits for children. Personally, I find myself in the same place as the former opinion for the following reasons.

First and foremost, computer games are time consuming. Undoubtedly, computer game is the primary reason why children nowadays prefer staying inside to going outside. The amount of time they spend playing games can be used for much more beneficial activitities. Instead of games, teenagers can go outdoor and play with their peers, learning much more about the outside world. Moreover, computer games create severe impacts on them. For instance, since children avoid spending time outdoor and doing athletic activities to be inert and lazy at home, the chances of obesity are much higher. In fact, the obesity rate in the world is now higher than ever before and it is still increasing day by day and obesity also contributes to other ailments such as heart diseased. In addition, playing computer games can lead to weak eyesight since they spend too much time in front of a screen. Therefore, children should not be allowed to play computer games.

Secondly, computer games provide no educational value. Opponents of my point of view may claim that computer game is a source of entertainment for children after a stressful day at school and some may benefits them academically. Nevertheless, this is only true in one respect. It is undeniable that playing computer games makes children become more relaxed, but it does more harm than good. In fact, computer games can promote violence among these youngsters. For example, in order to appeal to youngsters, most computer games companies attempt to recreate violence. Some of the most popular games nowadays such as Call of Duty or Counter Strike are extremely violence, with vivid images of death, explosions and gunshots and as a result, children have the tendency to mimic those actions. Therefore, computer games negatively influence children.

In conclusion, I find myself definitely agree with those who assert that children should not be allowed to play computer games. This is of their negative influence on children.