The computer provides us with convenience and eliminates manual work

IELTS task2 - agree or disagree problem

Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Computers now play a vital role in our society. Some people think that the computer is the most important invention of the last century. While others have different opinions. The essay supports the former idea that there are not other inventions more important than the computer. Firstly, the essay will discuss the convenience that the computer provides us with and secondly, discuss how the computer eliminates manual work.

Computers are used everywhere we can imagine since they bring us lots of conveniences. Customers use shopping websites or smartphone applications to buy whatever they want online. Browsing goods on the computer is much easier than driving to the shopping mall. Many young people do not know how to cook a meal. And ordering meals on the computer is an alternative. Years ago, we communicated with each other through letters. Now we use instant messager like Facebook, Wechat. No waiting is needed anymore. It can be drawn that computers have made our life more convenient than years ago in many aspects.

The computer is originally designed to deal with complex calculations that are used to be done by people. Calculating is a tiring and complex job. People often make mistakes doing such a job all day. Computers surely free us from tough calculation problems. After years of development, computers are able to do more difficult things now. Computers can control machines to produce goods without human guidance. In addition, advanced techniques like image recognition and automatic driving are also running on computers. Lots of tasks used to be done by the human now can be completed by computers.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the computer is the most essential invention in the last 100 years since it not only makes our life convenient but also reduces lots of manual and complex tasks.