Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms

Computers are now the basis of the modern world.

They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Computers have laid the foundation of the world we know today. While many are of the opinion that the classroom should be equipped with computers for the sake of teaching, placing too heavy a reliance on them may prove counterproductive. In this essay, I will present both sides of the problem and state my opinion.

On the one hand, it is indubitable that computers create endless teaching possibilities. First of all, by replacing paper worksheets and paperback textbooks with digitalized versions of them, no longer do students have to carry the burden to go to school. Secondly, student management can also require much less effort from the teacher, as computers can complete tasks such as sorting or auto-grading exams for instance. Furthermore, computers provide access to enormous, invaluable educational resources for both the teacher and the student. Learners can look up answers to questions or information about a subject on the spot, while the teacher can make lessons become more exciting.

On the other hand, dependence on computers may bring about negative effects. Firstly, computers can help learners browse for information instantaneously indeed, but this can be habit-forming and overusing computers may limit their critical thinking skills. Secondly, prolonged screen time may damage students' vision, and near-sightedness or far-sightedness has become increasingly commonplace among students as a result. Finally, students could become separate from the real world should they develop an addiction to computers. With no more human-to-human contact, learning is no longer fun.

In conclusion, although we can utilize computers to enhance teaching experience to a certain extent, excessive use of computers can have adverse effects as well. Widespread deployment of computers should be encouraged, so long as we do not count on them.