Computers have contributed to medicine, but they brought many hindrances in human development

Advantages and disadvantages of Using Computers

A computer is a device that accepts information in the form of digitalized data and manipulates it for some result based on a program or sequence of instructions on how the data is to be processed. However, there are some advantages and disadvantages of using computers.

One important advantage is that computer technology has contributed as a tool for medicine. Computers are being used to screen x-rays, enabling doctors see if patients suffer from any illness. For example, patients with brain illnesses can receive an implant that allows communication between their brain and a computer.

Another benefit is that computers can be used as a great learning supporting tool. Students, for instance, can have access to all sorts of information, ranging from websites like online dictionaries to educational videos.

However, computer appliance has also created some problems.

These electronic brains have replaced many posts. As different tasks are performed automatically, the need for people is reduced and thus unemployment increases. This mainly happens in factories, where new machines and robots are used to solve different tasks. In those factories, computers are utilized to make products, manage companies´ budgets, do online business, and write mail.

Another drawback is that their software can be affected by virtual viruses easily. There are some websites which are infected by malware and with only a click on a link the virus gets into the computer destroying not only the information stored but also the hard disk.

All in all, computers have brought many hindrances in fields that affect human development. However, its extended use have helped people deal with many problems ranging from health issues to educational ones.