IELTS 2: Computers are just a tool or the most important invention?

Topic:Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

the greatest invention of the last decades

My essay:

There is an argument about whether computers are the best invention of all time or not. Some of them, included me, completely agree with the statement that computers are the greatest invention of the last decades.

First of all, computers are regarded as the most useful tools to store information. With a small computer, you can save for more than thousands of documents, videos or photos as well. As everyone knows that inside every computer has installed a modern micro-chip which helps them to store anything the users want. In comparison with the traditional libraries which can just contain a certain number of books, novels... and one of the things makes it inferior to computers is that it is impossible for us to bring huge libraries whenever we prefer to read some books while traveling.

In addition, intelligence is also another feature turns computers to be the most momentous invention up till now. With a computer from the oldest to the most modern ones, there is no problem for them to make hundreds of calculations no matter how difficult and complicated the equations are. Moreover, it gives us the most convenient service to relieve ourselves after a daily rat race thanks to its intelligence: chatting with distant relatives or friends no longer a hard point for us with the help of computers, for instance.

On the other hand, not all that the computers bring to us are the best. Also, they have many other drawbacks that need us to consider. For example, because of its convenience, fast and usefulness, human now became more and more dependent on it. We often see the others keep concentrating on the screen, spend full time a day on computers, and even children now our desire to stay in front of the screen to glue their eyes to the computers instead of hanging out with friends.

In conclusion, no one can deny the key role of computers in our life, as well as computers, are the most powerful invention as recognition. But in fact, we also should use it as a tool for lightening our work rather than become the servants for it.