IELTS Task 2 - Essay about computers' translation - hoping for review

Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

-------------------- My work ---------------------

In this modern era, computers have played a leading role in providing convenience in various aspects of life. Since it is faster and more precise to translate via computer programs, learning a new language seems time-consuming to many people. From my perpective, significant as the aid of computer-based translator, acquiring a different language cannot be considered inferior due to manifold reasons.

To start with, the speedy work of translating applications on phones can offer their users a range of merits, however, overshadowed by the natures of a language speaker. For instance, travellers who find it hard to learn or pronounce certain languages can resort to quick translations from apps for urgent questions about directions in case they get lost. On the other hand, while tourists using auto-translating softwares can find their ways to aspired destinations, language learners can build new relationships by having deeper conversations in a more human manner with local people. Furthermore, although massive in vocabulary storage, the mechanical voice from apps cannot convey aspects of emotions. Unlike the emotionless verbal recordings, human speech can deliver feelings and moods that add authenticity and trustworthiness to communication.

Another strength of translating programs lies in their high accuracy in interpretation which, however, cannot outweigh the drawbacks it brings. It is not surprising nowadays to see more and more apps that not only offer precise translations but also pay meticulous attention to grammatical errors. Capitalizing this miraculous function, many students are able to achieve considerably high grades when dealing with writing homework. While they keep obtaining remarkable scores with hand-in assignments, they simultaneously fail to achieve the same excellence when it comes to real-time writing tests where the use of technological devices is prohibited. This way of learning is alarmingly detrimental as they may grow more and more dependent on computers, and consequently, become lazy thinkers.

In conclusion, advantageous as the lingual shortcuts computers provide us, they should only be treated as assistance not replacement for conventional language acquisition. The reasons for this vary from the lack of deep messages and genuine emotions to being banned in test rooms and causing adverse impacts on students' way of learning.