The Conditions of Water Supply In Indonesia

Water supply and sanitation in Indonesia is characterized by poor levels of access and service quality. According to data, there is over 40 million people lack access to an improve water and no access to improved sanitation. Only about 2% of people have access to filth in municipal areas, this is one of the lowest in the world among middle-income countries.

Access to improved water source in 2004 was 77%, which is 89% in urban and 72% in rural. Access to safe water is gauged by the number of people, which have a reasonable means of getting a qualify amount of water that is safe for drinking, washing, and essential menage to activities, expressed as a percentage of the total population.

Urban sanitation is the least well addressed of major policy issues in Indonesia. Poor sanitation in cities and small burgs is posing population health hazards though pollution of both ground and surface water sources used by urban populations for a variety of aims. Top-down delivery systems of the past have led to the poor not gaining sizable access to safe sanitation services in both urban and rural areas.

The provision of water and sanitation services in urban areas is the responsibility of PDAMs. PDAM take the responsibility due to the fact that supply and distribution of water are major concerns, these systems are massive engineering projects. Besides, many professionals are involved their planning, construction, and maintenance.

In conclusion, water is not only human need, but a human right since it is set the presence of any human being. Right to water is turning into right to life, due to the fact that urban life would be impossible without water supply systems.