There are some conflicting theories on the subject - Who did discover America?

There was some theories which revealed that the real person who discovered America was not Columbus. Firstly, Zuan Chabotto, a person who traveled to places and decided to go to Venetia, claimed that Columbus did not reach into North America until 1498. Zuan Chabotto, was well known as John Cabot, had sailed into North America in the previous year earlier, 1497. It was proven by Alwyn Ruddock, an English scholar, in 1966. He found a letter by John Day, an English merchant, which mentioned that Cabot had reached in North America before Columbus did. Unfortunately, Ruddock had ordered to completely destroyed this letter untill it was not exist anymore at his death, in 2005.

Secondly, the greatest scholar and an honoured scientist who came from Uzbekistan, Abu Raihan al-Biruni, had learned about earth's co-ordinates, erath's circumference, and the principal of particular gravity. He had a great mind about an unknown suface of the Earth, which located between Europe and Asia, and able to be lived. Although Biruni had reached his conclusion about the land in 1037, he had not laid eyes at anytime. While Leif Ericson was a person, who had been sent to a foreign country to teach about Christian, had reached North America in 1000 with lack of understanding about what he had found.

Overall, until the present time, Biruni is getting his tittle of the discoverer of North America because of his calculations and observations. He was the greatest Central Asia explorer among the other earliest explorer.