Task 2 - conflicting views about the purpose of films

Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain

Nowadays, people hold conflicting views about the functions of films. While some people believe that films are just sources of entertainment, I agree that films should also contain messages to educate watchers.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the fundamental purpose of films is to entertain audiences. In fact, people want to see movies to relax after a long day coping with the pressure of hustle and bustle life. Due to the exhaustion and stress caused by overloaded duties, people do not have enough energy to continue to work, therefore, they need to recharge the batteries by watching their favourite programs. When watching films, people can be immensely happy or satisfied thanks to the gorgeous visual, catchy sound effects and fascinating content. As a result, people find films as forms of entertainment, which help them not only to feel comfortable at home or in free time but also to discover some new social issue that they have not known before.

On the other hand, I suppose that educational values, including knowledge about nature or humanity are necessary for films. It is true that people are tremendously affected by the content that they watch, so they should learn more about values from films such as morals instead of only being entertained. For example, historical films can enhance people's bravery as well as their patriotism by reviving the countries' wars. On top of adults, films also have an important impact on children, which leads to their development of awareness about the world. If they have chances to get exposure to meaningful films during childhood, they may gain a wider perspective soon.

In conclusion, although movies are mainly produced for entertainment purposes, I concur that they should not be simply for fun, however, must be useful for education.