TOEFL: constructing public transportation systems in cities is good?

Some people believe that cities should spend more money to construct public transportation systems. Others believe that public transportation systems are inconvenient and should not be constructed in cities. Which do you believe? Give your specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Big cities play central roles in every country. It's no wonder that governments spend a lot of money modernizing cities. Although some people disagree with constructing public transportation systems in cities, I believe it is positive for development after all. My opinion is associated with geology, economy and environment.

From a geological viewpoint, cities are the best places for constructing public transportation systems. Required finances, workforce, opportunities to get access to modern technologies... are all higher than those from the rural areas. Moreover, cities can be considered as samples for testing whether public transportation systems are good and necessary for further applying all over the country. Through these experiences, we have an opportunity to adjust our policies.

Economically, public transportation systems saves a lot. Every one saves money while using public transportation systems. Cities can save spaces and time since public transportation systems can be constructed underground or higher in the air. So it is really a win-win strategy.

Last but not least, public transportation systems helps in saving the environment much. That the environment becomes fresh and clean when individuals reduces his/her own means of transport is precise. In addition, while travelling together, people have a place to talk and share their views. In this way our social will be more vibrant and interactive.

In conclusion, despite of having several disadvantages, public transportation systems appear to be necessary. Every one should use it oftenly, economically and effectively so that public transportation systems would become a critical part in every modern city.