Essay about the contrast between current generation and my parents generation - IELTS

Topic: Contrast people of your age with those of your parents' generation. Think about beliefs, values,

goals, traditions, language, etc.

New and Old Generation

English is the common language spoken in the US, but do all people from different ages speak the same language? What this means is does differently in generation creates a new language? Yes, it does. People of my generation and those of my parents have different beliefs, values, languages and life goals.

One of the major differences between the two generations is the life goals and definition of success. Current generation defines life goals as having a successful career. They believe it is more important to be successful at work than thinking about the family. They even don't consider having a family unless making a big advancement in their career. On the other hand, old generation goals focus more on the family. They always see family as number one priority in their life. For example, my father was always keen to build a strong family connection between us by giving most of his time to spend it with us. Therefore, basically current and old generation are really different in their life goals.

Another difference between the two generations of people is their language. The current generation is more exposed to various cultures with different languages. These young people learned new vocabulary and expressions that were not in the time of old generation. With the existence of the internet and satellites, every day the young generation introduce new vocabulary to the old language. However, old generation didn't have this exposure to the outside world. They used their language without introducing new expressions or words. They didn't have the current varieties of communication like internet and satellite. The current and old generation can't, sometimes, understand each other even if they speak the same language.

Current and old generation are also different in life values. For example, current generation cares more about collecting precious stuff. They are more materialistic than the old generation. These young people always dream about having an expensive car, branded watch and up to date clothes. On the other hand, old generation's values were more into authenticity. They didn't consider possessing expensive stuff is essential for them. These old people care more about real person values. Current and old generation have a complete difference in definition of life values.

To summarize, at some point all people are similar; however, the difference in generation create a difference in several aspects. People need to study these differences and to take the benefits from both generations.