Contribution of artists and scientists are both important to society.

Please help...

It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members.

Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society.

Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by your society? Give specific reasons to support your answer

It goes without saying the contribution of artists and scientists are both important to society. Some people claim that scientists make way more contribution than artists do, while others argue that it is not true. In my point of view, both artists and scientists are playing equal, valuable and irreplaceable roles in terms of contributing to our society. My view is based on the following arguments.

From the one hand, it is undoubtedly that art nourishes our souls, makes our mental lives diversified and healthier. Literature, for example, is a refuge of fantasy. It is a way of becoming someone you have always wanted to be, living in the world that you want to live - for both writer and reader. Lying on a beautiful sunny beach, reading a favorite book is an excellent way of relaxing. Movie, another the form of art, helps people to read a whole novel or a fiction in a lively way. Having a romantic dinner following by a good movie in a favorite cinema is a typical way of enjoying life. Music and dancing also make our life better. Listening to profound melodies or burning oneself in emotional movements is another great way of wiping out our stress. Therefore, without these art forms I believe that our world would become boring than ever before.

From the other hand, scientists play no less important role. I can hazard to say that every single one in the world is indebted to the scientists. We have cars and airplane to travel from one place to another place fast and safely. We have mobile phone so that we can talk to our friend who is thousands of kilometers far away. We have internet where we can access to the immense source of knowledge, etc. Finally, variety of medicines helps to cure many types of disease and prolong our lives. Those convenient facilities were all invented by nobody but scientists. The contribution of scientists, thus, is invaluable to the society.

In conclusion, someone cannot say that artists' contribution to society is greater than those of scientists or vice verse. My opinion is that both types play equal roles to the development of our society. Artists feed our mental lives, while scientists make our world a better and more convenient place to live.