Control over happiness - 'people gain happiness differently' (SAT)

Is happiness something over which people have no control?

Happiness is something like the key to treasure.It can be readily stated that without happiness,one can never find his or her true self.Both external and internal environment motive people to seek happiness.Through literature, one can see how this statement proves to be true.

Happiness is sometimes imposed by outside,as is seen in the novel 'Great expectation'. Living in a with a blacksmith,Joe,Pip had constantly cherished the hope that he would become a gentry one day.Before he inherited the large sum of money,Pip was somewhat ashamed with his inferior friends and his own identity.In contrast, Estella's ascendence seemed beyond his reach.Therefore,Pip was increasingly discontented with his life in the forge.When he became a gentleman,however, he led a squander life and was shocked to hear that Estella is already married.Morever,as his benefactor(the convict) was imprisoned again,his 'great expectation' extinguished. Pip was beated by this series of disaster.After an extended period of sickness during which he is looked after by Joe,Pip introspected what he once pursued and united with Joe.Initially, the environmental contrast incented Pip to pursue a better status.However,when his dream disillusioned,he was able to confront the reality and retrieved his nature and his affection with Joe.

At the same time,we acquire happiness from our experiences.In the novel Pride and Prejudice,The protagonist, Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy obtained eternal love through an arduous journey. At first,Elizabeth was irritated by Darcy's arrogance and coldness.Her misapprehension about Darcy deepened when her sister's marriage was vandalized and Wickham's fradulent remarks on Darcy prevailed.As a result,everytime they met,the air was embarrassing and unfriendly.However,Elizabeth was astounded when Darcy interpreted his "haughty"manner,which disabused Elizabeth of her many mistakes.Through her experience in pemberly, Elizabeth testified what Darcy said.Both apologized for their previous arrogance and eventually led a happy life.Their gradual acquaintance and willingnesses to understand better account for the reason why they could find their deficency and accept each other.

People gain happiness differently.These two exemples, though in literature, exemplify the two path through which happiness is pursued.By acting in our own way or being affected, we finally reach the same goal.

needless words and awkward description??