IELTS; CONTROL ON WATER OR NOT?

Some people think they have right to use as much fresh water as they want,others,otherwise believes governments should strictly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Water is the most essential natural element available to us, though it covers 70% of the earth but still very less percentage of its is drinkable. Three conspicuous ways through which we get fresh water are Ground water, Rain water and melted water from mountains i.e, the water flowing through the rivers. Since it is in limited amount and the present facts shows increase in its consumption, so, we should not waste it at all.

Water concerns has risen just a few decades ago, since scanty of people were forming population, fresh water was available in abundance. So old people are not realising the present condition still think of using as much fresh water as they want, which might lead the future generation into trouble.

World population which was around 3 billion just a few decades ago is now almost 7.5 billion, more than twice so, natural resources are now being consumed at twice at faster rate hence water too. Supplying fresh water to such huge population is a tough challenge that the governments of countries are facing. One direct impact of this massive consumption is seen on the level of ground water which has significantly decreased to a few meters in average.

Various attempts have been made by the government to stem the ground water use for commercial and living purposes and they have come out to be successful, like, hand pumps and underwater taps have been dislocated and personal ground water pumping machines have been removed from almost all of the houses to somehow stop people from fetching water. Developed countries has developed their sewage system to recycle the used water and that is so far the best way to make use of the water wasted in daily activities

Undoubtedly wastage of fresh water is an alarming concern at present but by carefully using and recycling these concerns can be made a thing of past.