The controversial idea to give longer prison sentences in order to reduce crime rate

Hi all , l am new here

l am preparing for Ielts and this is my essay ,l hope l would receive comments and feedback from you all ,thank you so much !

jail time as a solution for crime

People have different views that whether imprisoning people longer in jails in a longer time or implementing other alternative ways is better to reduce crime rates. In my opinion, there are many measures that can be taken to mitigate this controversial issue.

On the one hand, prison will definitely an effective way to reduce crimes since it would act as a deterrent to people who have intention of committing crimes. To begin with, it may prevent wrongdoers from harming other citizens .This is understandable as during the time they are imprisoned, they are totally being isolated from society, likely being imprisoned in a remote area. Moreover ,they are highly suffering from torturing physical punishments every single days for their previous evil actions and therefore minimize the likelihood of re-offending actions .Another effect worth mentioning is their awareness is raised significantly through the moral lessons and meaningful activities taught in the jails

On the other hand, apart from using jails as punishments we have many other anti-measures to solve it. One of them is non-custodial sentence, a punishment which is not done in prison ,such as fines ,probation orders or community orders service orders .By doing this the authority give them the chance to discern their wrong actions and raise their awareness of not committing a crime. Furthermore, the government plays an important role to tackle the issue. This could be done by installing surveillance cameras in places with lots of criminal activities. One more potential approach is that famous people like movie stars should set a good example for young people to follow, which will eventually lead to decrease in juvenile delinquency.

In conclusion, despite the undeniable effectiveness of prisons, there are many other appropriate solutions can be adopted to ease such problems