The controversial issue about whether it is necessary to have a fixed punishment for offenders

Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however,...

Nowadays, there is a controversial issue about whether it is necessary to have a fixed punishment for offenders. From my own perspective, it would depend on the situation and motivation.

Some people advocate that it is fair and justified of having fixed punishments. For example, people are likely to be accused by the same crime, but they are determined into different punishments, and it would be judged by criticism. Moreover, if the criminal act should be determined under some conditions and individual circumstance, it may probably depend on the judge's subjective feeling. There is no doubt true that the judge's subjective feeling may influence by some personal emotion such as, racial prejudice and sex discrimination. Therefore, it may cause unfair judgement for criminals.

From my point of view, although fixed punishment can be more fair and less criticised, I believe that we should understand the reason and motivation behind the crime because of our humane society. For instance, there is a common case that a woman may be abused by her alcoholic husband in a long time, she may murder her husband in a fight, and I believe that it is deserved to be realised and understand by the public.

In conclusion, people have different views about fixed punishment, some people advocate that fixed punishment is fair to everyone, while I believe that it is important to have a humanity society.