IELTS: Convenience foods cannot replace traditional methods of cooking

Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays we can find almost every kind of meals in the fridge of the supermarket already cooked, packed and ready to heat and eat. This fact has made ours lives easier and its acceptance seems to be more and more usual. But, will convenience foods become prevalent over traditional foods?

As a matter of fact, none can deny buying everyday convenience foods is far cheaper than going all the weekdays to the cantine at work or at University. Though, even when prices are getting lower and lower, we would never save so much money as cooking the same dishes by ourselves.

This last point is a complete truth when it cames to a family, but in case you live alone sometimes you can't simply buy all the ingredients because it takes the risk of going off before you use all of them. And, of course, it takes a lot of time to prepare a different meal for each day.But for a little money you can get any kind of food with plenty of variety, from Spanish to Indian food, without gluten or for vegetarian diets, with long expiration date.

This saves a lot of time: you only need a day in the week to go and choose seven meals from all around the world and enjoy the rest of your free time without cooking.

All in all, even when is getting more and more importance, convenience foods could never replace traidional methos of cook preparation as the result is not so food as traditional food, although convenience foods are a very good alternative.