IELTS: Whether convenience foods can take place of traditional foods?

LOOKING FOR YOUR COMMENTS! THANK YOU!

TASK 2: Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods/ methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion.

Nowadays, people are so busy making livings that they wish to have one more hour to spend every day. Hence, they are trying to cut every unecessary expenditure of time. On this occasion, some people argue that convenience foods, which can be carried or cooked easily are getting increasingly popular. As a result, traditional foods and their preparation methods could be replaced by convenience foods. However, it is hard for me to agree with this opinion.

First of all, I have to claim that the mentioned statement has reached my limits on living. Food by no means is simply functioned to satisfy people's hunger. It is rather a representative of live attitude. For instance, when I am eating something, I would like to feel the feelings brought by foods and taste the chefs' delicate ideas about foods. In contrast, most people who eat convenice foods have only one aim --- convenience. In addition, meal time is a precious even the only chance for a family to get together and catch up with each other. This is an indispensable role, which convenience foods cannot serve as.What's more, conventional methods of food preparation are unique in various cultures, which could never be ignored. Thus, inheriting catering culture from generation to generation is an obligation to mankind.

Last but not least, convenience foods often refer to foods that can be preserved for a long time. It is a common sense that this kind of food is processed by chemical additives, which do harm to health. As a consequence, eating convenience foods as a habit is not a sensible choice in the long run.

In conclusion, although convenience foods do save time and make life easier to some extent, the unique features of conventional foods make themselves essential in our lives. Therefore, convenience foods and traditional foods will exist simultaneously and cannot replace each other.