Core curriculum seek students that are both good at their career and other important disciplines

Test 3 TOEFL. Summarize a reading and listening passage.

Core curriculum has the objective of developing an integral professional. It doesn´t seek students that can solve mathematical problems outstandingly nor students that can write a critically acclaimed essay, but students that are both good at their career and other important disciplines. However, these interdisciplinary oriented courses are not left without flaws.

For instance, it is said that many of these courses are easy and irrelevant; therefore they should be replaced or removed. This problem can be addressed by adding the study of current issues, like problems regarding gender and cultural diversity in our current society.

It is also argued that the students don´t receive enough guidance to enroll the courses that are more accord to their vocational needs. This can be fixed by further expanding the diversity of subjects; that way every student will have the option to expand is knowledge in a determined area.

Finally, there is a demand for more creativity in these courses, like the addition of volunteer work and internships. This practical labor will give the students a broader perspective of life, and they will also learn skills that apply to any career.

Some people have asked me for the passages that I'm summarizing, but since I take them from a software, I can't write them here. Also, it would be probably illegal to do so because of copyright.