GRE - 'Correlation between monitoring and productivity of the employees'

"In the six months that I have been watching the employees, their productivity has increased by over 12 percent. Therefore, my recommendation is that the employees either be watched by, or think that they are watched by, an outside evaluator at all times from this point on."

Discuss the merits of the preceding argument. Analyze the evidence used as well as the general reasoning. Present points that would strengthen the argument or make it more compelling.

In the given argument, the author mentions that he/she has monitored the employees, and the productivity of the employees has increased over a period of time. And the author argues that the employees should be moitored, or at least make the employees think they are monitored in order to increase or maintain productivity.

The authors arguement, and his assumption(s) may be right. From the given arguement, it can be surmised that the author assumes the productivity of the employees has increased simply beacuse they were being monitored, and hence may under some duress work harder. This can be true in certain conditions. For example, the company or organisation may be laying off employees for some reason, like a declining economy, or the replacement of workers with machinery or some other (possibly cheaper) alternative. If such were the case, then it is possible that most workers may be more assiduous in their assigned tasks, from hopes that they will be noticed by the administration and not be laid off instead of someone else. And the authors argument would definitely be strenghthened.

However, since no details are mentioned about the organisation or the firm, any factor can eventuate increased productivity. One factor can be better or improved technology, which in turn may allow workers to complete more work per time and hence improve productivity. Another factor may be that the organsiation has announced increased remuneration or benefits for industrious people. This in turn may have motivated the workers, leading to increased productivity. If these factors are true, it would undermine the author's reasoning and arguement.

Hence, it is understood that the author may be right. But without any details, in cannot be fully judged as to whether the authors arguement is vaild or not

ps jkjeremy I've revised some of my previous analysis, hope this essay is a step forward

dumi, I'm not sure whether you've read my "Analyze an Argument" responses before, but I hope this lives up to your standards.