SAT - countless historical evidences show that challenging the authority is necessary at some times.

Hey guys! This is a timed essay (25min) on a Topic, Is it important to question the ideas and decisions of people in positions of authority?

Please give me a grade out of 12!! thank you!

It is in our inane nature that we tend to follow the already established authority because of sense of security; sometimes we are inclined to mindlessly accept the orders, convictions, and cultures without questioning them. However, several historical evidences suggest that sometimes challenging the authority is necessary for development. We need to wake up from unconscious acceptance, and realize the importance of questioning the ideas and decisions held by the authority.

It is never assured that the people in authority is always correct. In the 16th century, when the religion had a dominating influence on the society, the Catholic Church abused its power to sate their desires. Consequentially, the society suffered by the corruption of the Church, who published unjust and unfair documents and practices, such as dogma of infallibility and the indulgence. Although the Church held a magnificent power that was parallel to none, Martin Luther was brave enough to stand up and criticized the Church. One of his greatest work, the 95 thesis, incited the people to take a stand against the malfeasance of the Church. Although the Church imposed several threats to Martin Luther, such as excommunication, Martin was not stopped by the suppression and continued his work. The fruit of Martin's bravery, the Protestant Reformation ultimately led to Church's recognition of its corruption and called for Catholic Reformation, which helped Church improve tremendously. Martin's daring action against the authority led to the improvement the Church.

Martin's work was not the only example of improvement caused by challenging the authority. Those who diligently fought behind the 19th and 20th century US Women's Rights movements prove that questioning the authority leads to social improvements. Although the patriarchal society already had expectations on women, such as "Republican Mothers" and the Cult of Domesticity, few women sought for a way to breach the limitations of women, ranging from Abigail Adam's personal letter to her husband, "remember the women", and 1848 Seneca Falls convention at New York. The societies cruelly disregarded the potential of women, women proved their ability of labor force by substituting their husband's job during the World War I and II. Through immense amount of effort and time, women finally received full respect from the society. After all, the women's status the contemporary society recognizes had a foundation upon preceding American Activists' struggle of questioning the authority.

In conclusion, countless historical evidences show that challenging the authority is necessary at some times. Although the people of authority may appear professional and trustworthy, people should recognize the power of questioning the ideas and decisions of the authority, and the potential of improvements they can make.