task 2 Ielts:In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing.

In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion.

In recent years, the expectation of life from all over the world has risen significantly; therefore, this passage will discuss how older is essential for younger generations and the problems of overpopulation. However, the benefits seem to outweigh the drawbacks.

The increase in life expectancy is beneficial for several reasons. First and foremost, it is claimed that the longer people live, the more experienced and wise they are. After a long and continuous period of studying and working, the elderly have an opportunity to learn skills and knowledge that are valuable. Therefore older people can pass down their life experiences to younger generations, which makes the world more developed. Secondly, another benefit of living longer is that elderly can work or do volunteer with the view of devoting more to society. For example, my 65 years old uncle is still doing voluntary work as a teacher in a mountainous area.

On the other hand, it is undoubted that the rise in life expectancy also results in some drawbacks. A longer lifespan would be a burden on the shoulders of the government. For instance, the General Office For Population And Family Planning organization has announced that 2 billion VND had to be added to cover the medical insurance of people above 60 in the past 15 years. Moreover, overpopulation would be a big concern for developed countries.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the rising lifespan, but I firmly agree that the increase in the length of life may bring more advantages than its disadvantages.