As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units.

Topic:

In your opinion, what is this cause and what are the effects on the society?

individualism and nuclear families

It is true that nowadays, the more countries develop, the more their citizens tend to live individually or in nuclear families. This phenomenon has affected the society in various ways, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects.

There are a variety of reasons why members of modern society support this trend. Firstly, marriage might undergo some unexpected things such as divorce, domestic violence, and huge costs to bring children up, which creates fear of getting married amongst the young generation. Therefore, the youths lean toward the idea of individualism instead of collectivism. Another important factor that contributes to the trend is the generation gap. In other words, different opinions between the young and the old would be the main culprit of unnecessary conflict, which can act as a catalyst for stressful family environment.

On the one hand, this development can be extremely positive. That there would be a decline in population growth rate will help to prevent fierce competition that is the breeding ground of social unrest and political instability. Furthermore, as living in small families, parents will take better care of their children who will be the future pillars of the nation. On the other hand, the shortage of young workforce is the negative consequence that can be anticipated. As a result, we will likely to witness an unsustainable growth in economic and general prosperity of the countries in the future.

In conclusion, individualism and nuclear families have impacted many aspects of the society by both its benefits and drawbacks.