(IELTS) Should all countries joint efforts to solve the environmental problems?

Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The green house effect is changing the atmosphere of the Earth which poses a grave threat to the survival of human race. Such environmental problems are not the obligation for the individual countries, which calls for the awareness of every nation and every citizen because of the widespread of environmental problems and proper supervision which should be afforded by other countries.

Apparently, the environmental problems are not constrained in a single country where the problem took place. It is not uncommon that one problem happened would affect other countries. Take the BP oil spill for example, water pollution not only greatly dampen the fishing industry in Mexico, but also lower the consumption of fish in neighborhood. Further, biodiversity of animals are under threat because sea animals take the pollutant water as their water source.

In addition to the sweeping consequence brings by environmental problems, country has different interest target and take various measures to combat the existing problem. For the developing countries, the governments tend to give the priority to economic development at the expense of environment damage. In this situation, supervision from other nations are of importance as it could promote the country fulfill their obligation to address the global problems in environment.

Even though it may take more time to reach consensus among various countries, the willingness of joint efforts will put the problems in the right track in finding solution. A better plan will be complemented after several communication and cooperation among differing nations.

To conclude, environmental problems call for long-time coordination at an international stage due to the fact that individual countries are too weak to handle the huge problem.