Nowadays, there are some countries where the number of young adults is larger than elderly people

At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Younger or older societies - which better?

My essay :

Nowadays, there are some countries where the number of young adults is larger than that of older people. And about these countries, there have been a controversial debate between some people who insist that such countries have more advantages than disadvantages and others who believe that they will undergo more disadvantages than advantages. I agree with the former opinion for the following reasons in spite of some drawbacks.

Those who are worried about drawbacks of relatively smaller number of older people in some countries argue that disadvantages from this situation are significantly harmful. Since older people learned how to live in the smart ways earlier than young adults, the lack of older people means the absence of opportunities to get precious knowhow of life from older people. As a result, it would cause more frequent possible mistakes all over the country. Furthermore young adults would have difficulty preserving their traditions without the enough number of older people to help them learn about traditions. Because tradition is spiritual directions leading a country, without it, people would suffer from predicament where they lose their identity.

Despite those disadvantages, it seems to me that many young adults could bring profound changes to improve their country more than older people. First of all, younger people have the strength from the physical respect. That is they can contribute to the nation by offering their physical labor which older people are relatively hard to provide. For example, if some countries need reconstruction of social infrastructures because of natural disaster, younger people would be considerably important human resources to succeed in reconstruction quickly. Additionally young people are easier to absorb new knowledges and values compared to older people, a country dominated by younger people can deal with the recent global changes more efficiently. Therefore the advantages should be considered more importantly than the disadvantages when the number of young generation is larger than that of old generation.

To sum up, even though lack of old generation would result in some disadvantages, in my opinion, having the larger number of young generation in a country has more advantages.