In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen?

Is it positive or negative development?

In developed countries, most citizents investing a lot of time in work to contribute to companies. In my opinion, this problem has its advantages and disadvantages.

First of all, people can advance quickly at work. When they work hard, they can increase professional products and be appriciated higher than others. In addition, working overtime contributes development, rises gross domestic product of countries. For instant, Japanese residents spending their time at workplace help GDP of Japan to increase to 40% each year. Beside that, working a lot also help people avoid society's vices such as getting drunk, adultery,...

In constract, doing overtime at workplace makes emplouees suffer many diseases related to bones and eyes. People have to work with computer all day and sit in wrong posture, this will lead to humpback and weak eyes. Moreover, people won't have much time for their relationship like family, friends and so on. For example, employees working all day can be tired and dod not have time to share with their wife or husband, thiswill break people's relationship.

As a freshman, I find although people spending too much time for their work earn a lot of money, they don't have time for themselves. As a freshman, I am going to find a part-time job but I will keep balance between my studying and my job.

In a nutshell, I personally believe people should manage time for both working and relaxing.